New fisherman looking for help with a boat

Newbassfisherman

New fisherman looking for help with a boat

Post by Newbassfisherman »

Hey guys

I am new to the forum and pretty new to bass fishing. My high school son and I mostly fish local lakes and ponds and have had some good success but we are interested in getting a boat to fish the delta and probably Clearlake, lake berryessa and other good spots. I am looking to spend up to 20k. I don't see us fishing tournaments and don't need a super sped demon. Looking for a stable, reliable boat for two , sometimes 3 people to hit the water. I would appreciate any recommendations or input to consider.

We are complete novices having never owned a boat so I am also really interested in how best to build my skills on driving a bass boat safely considering the only boat I have experience is a rowboat with a trolling motor! Is anyone away of courses or instructors I might be able to hire similar to those offered for driving a motorcycle to help to get up to speed and help me with the basics

Regards and thanks in advance for any input
eagle123777

Re: New fisherman looking for help with a boat

Post by eagle123777 »

first do not be in a hurry it took me 6 months to find my first boat a 17ft nitro with a 115 hp rude and we fished that boat for 6 years before moving up with 2 or 3 fishing.
while searching take the coast guard online boating course it could save you on boat insurance, as it did me and will give you the rules of the water.
after a check out test drive have the motor checked by a qualified mechanic do not buy one without this checkout, of course you don't want to do this for every boat so make sure its the one ya want to buy.
you will find many trashy boats in your search just be patient.
I was also a novice back in 96 so start slow and learn to drive boat as well as how to drive and launch the boat at the ramp.
jack
usaf (ret)
triton 21x2
norcalracer

Post by norcalracer »