Reels

Nevadaboy

Reels

Post by Nevadaboy »

Im new to the whole swimbait thinga and wondering what kinda reel and what size and kind of line.

Thanks for all the help!!
jcanaday495

Re: Reels

Post by jcanaday495 »

I would suggest a curado 300d or e for smaller swimbaits and either a cardiff 400 or a calcutta 400 for larger baits. I dont think you can go wrong with any of these reels.
Darth Baiter

Post by Darth Baiter »

Agreed... 8)
offduty

Post by offduty »

I would pass on the Cardiff it will eventually break. Get a Calcutta 400 or Curado 300. The Cardiff just aint heavy duty enough and will eventually fail. Watch eBay if you want a good deal on a 400.
Rich
Rich
elfish16

Post by elfish16 »

I agree that the Calcuttas are the way to go! Hold up through hell and back and are strong and smoothe! Haven't fished much with the 300 Curados, but they are sweet reels.

Eric
Eric Elshere

https://donssmokinsalmon.com
https://maxima-lines.com
DanIsaac

Post by DanIsaac »

Personally, I have gone to all Curado 300's. IMHO no need for anything else.
As for Cardiff, absoulutely not a swimbait reel. Most will get one year out of one, then begin to experience serious issues. The cast frame, sideplates, and looser tolerances just don't hold up to continual swimbait fishing. As for an occassional swimbait outing ok, but stick with a Calcutta if you prefer a round reel.

Dan
Last edited by DanIsaac on Tue Jan 11, 2011 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ReelEx, your source for quality, professional service on your Shimano, Lews, or Revo reels.

Guaranteed 96 hr turnaround on service.
650-454-4938 http://www.reel-ex.com
Ceaser

Post by Ceaser »