Lake Mead Pointers

Bassackwardz

Lake Mead Pointers

Post by Bassackwardz »

I have a tournament coming up at Lake Mead and I have zero experience there. Any help is much appreciated, lures, tactics, colors and conditions. I am going in blind and missing the pre fish due to work. I need some direction, thanks in advance!!!
B List
Huntington Beach, CA
Brian D.

Re: Lake Mead Pointers

Post by Brian D. »

tons of info out on the web. The tactics vary due to the time of year but usually drop shot, jigs, topwater, and jigs will work all season long. plastic colors... pink, MM3, Arrons magic, cinnimon purple.

Search Won bass and Kramer's site for info.
~~ I'm trying to think but nothing happens ~~
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8MhaihAw7I&feature=related
Bassackwardz

Post by Bassackwardz »

Brian,

Thanks for getting me started, do you ever throw swim baits or other larger baits to get the big bite? Things I have found so far lead me to believe that Mead has a lot of fish but not a lot of size, do you know this to be the case?

Thanks again!

Brant
B List
Huntington Beach, CA
Caudawg

Post by Caudawg »

Due to the gin clear water the more subtle / translucent colors are most effective for me on Mead whether it's a Rico, Spook, Staycee, hand pours, various Yamomoto baits (i.e.1 oz spider jigs), etc.

In June it's important to find the shade pockets whether it's cracks in sheer walls, behind rock/ boulder piles, weedbeds, flooded bushes, deeper structure etc.

If you are swinging for the fence...I think topwater & jerkbaits will get the bigger bites and plastics will help fill your limit. 1 oz Spider type jigs can also catch the big gals in deeper water.

Note: I haven't fished Mead in years but I'm confident that things are likely still the same as back then.
John Caulfield
Big Rock Sports- Territory Sales Manager (Norcal)
Freelance Outdoor Writer
Garrettt

Post by Garrettt »