Inflatable PFD WARNING!

Grape Ape

Inflatable PFD WARNING!

Post by Grape Ape »

Here is the Mustang MD3184 "inflatable" PFD. I have been wearing for about 7 years now. I was wearing this when I was ejected from my boat at over 70 MPH. If I would of been knock unconscious....I may have drown. The rear strapping and right side of the vest was drug over my head from the impact, then it inflated causing me to fight to get it back over my head. It actually held my head underwater. Well in my "after the fact" research I found this little piece of information:

Approved for recreational use by the U.S. Coast Guard
(USCG) as a Type V (Model MD3184) Personal Flotation Device (PFD). Not approved for water skiing or other high impact, high-speed activities.

GREAT!!!!!! Many fisherman wear these!!!! I will be spreading the word to everyone I see wearing one!
Attachments
s-l500.jpg
s-l500.jpg (20.64 KiB) Viewed 8008 times
Harry Markarian

Markarian Investigations @ (209) 777-9696
USAF (Retired)
Merced PD (Retired)
C & C Marine
Mitch

Re: Inflatable PFD WARNING!

Post by Mitch »

So, what do you suggest to improve the safety of using this ? Crotch straps maybe ? A higher chest strap ?? Or maybe a 45 MPH speed limit when using ??? I'd like to know more about the circumstances of your being EJECTED at 70 MPH.
I can understand not being approved for water skiing, it could very easily become pulled over your head, and such. High Impact sports ?? Uh, what is it about fishing that is high impact ???? And high speed ?? Yeah, if your're dumb enough to run, or brave enough to run at high speeds in rough or unfamiliar water !!
Hell, I've been suggesting seat belts for over 20 yrs !!
2007 "Numb Nut"

Ranger Boats-Mercury Motors
Minnkota Ultrex -TRP Batterys
Raymarine - Troll Bridge
Gloomis - Shimano
Pepper Jigs - Robo Worms
Grape Ape

Post by Grape Ape »