Delta boat

mark poulson

Delta boat

Post by mark poulson »

Is there a minimum length for a bass boat to be able to run the windy chop on Franks without being pounded?
Attitude plus effort equal success
CLEAN AND DRY
DarWise

Re: Delta boat

Post by DarWise »

I would think that the bigger the boat, the more pounding it can take from the chop because you can put a more powerful motor on the back to help you to navigate the waves, but then again I'm no expert.
185vsfrog

Post by 185vsfrog »

I would say you should not go with anything less than an 18'6" with a 150HP motor on the delta. It gets rough out there sometimes. Not as big as Clearlake but it can get bad depending where you are and the tide. Nice part about the delta is you can find places to hide and avoid the big water for the most part..
phatbass

Post by phatbass »

My first Delta boat was a Crestliner 1650 fish hawk with a 50 hp motor. It served me well for many years, but I did not travel too far and I would avoid fishing windy days. It sipped gas and I did manage to catch my pb largemouth from it but it sure was a bitch to fish from once that wind picked up. I finally stepped up to a glass 20 footer and the difference was night and day. Much heavier boat(good for wind) and a much more stable platform. I agree with the other comment, no smaller than 18 foot and 150 hp if you really want to get out and explore the Delta. Bigger is safer also. Lots of nutty wake boarders out there nowadays!
Just my two pennies.
Kerry L

Post by Kerry L »

I run a older Nitro (1990) 17' 6" with a 115hp Yamaha and I have no problem at all. When its windy Franks can be bad but that being said my old boat still gets across with out any issues.
Chad Sweitzer

Post by Chad Sweitzer »