Oroville Starter Kit

Chad Sweitzer

Oroville Starter Kit

Post by Chad Sweitzer »

Hey Everyone,
I will be attending Chico State this year and Oroville will be my new home lake. I have no experience there but from what the tournament results are it looks like some tough fishing (for size) compared to my Motherlode lakes. I'm gonna make a Tackle Warehouse order before I move in just so I can have some of the most productive baits/rigs/line to start. What works for the better fish at Oroville? Do you have to wade through the dinks to get them, or are the big fish always on a separate pattern like at Melones?
Thanks and feel free to PM me!
PB: Spot-9.625 (Shasta Record) LMB-13.27 SM-4.36
MGJR

Re: Oroville Starter Kit

Post by MGJR »

It is not dissimilar from Motherload Lakes, other than its primarily a spotted bass fishery. Yes, there are numbers, but if you want to fish for better quality, you can. It changes over the year, so it is difficult to give you a list. You do not need 4/0 EWG hooks, I will tell you that! I live in Chico, have fished Oroville my whole life. If you have more specific questions, happy to help.
spinnerbait70

Post by spinnerbait70 »

Chad,
When the water levels are stable I've always had better success throwin reaction baits. All my bigger spots have come on spinnerbaits and rip baits. Top water is also a player. Wind blown banks and points. Main body and north fork are my favorite areas. Mostly due to the fact that I've run into wolfpacks 4 times and they were all in those areas. those wolfpacks were huge and if you run into one, its unforgettable.
Lures of choice
1. Terminator spinnerbait ( beveled blades )
2. Bandit 200 ( rootbeer Chartruese belly )
3. Pointer 100 ( ghost )
4. speed trap ( crystal craw )
5. Vixen
6. Jig
Gary Dobyns

Post by Gary Dobyns »