Structure scan box question

Moderators: Mike M, Caudawg, Cooch, ash, Ken Sauret

1simplemann
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:32 am

Structure scan box question

Postby 1simplemann » Sun May 07, 2017 6:17 am

I upgraded to HDS 8 Gen 2's. While installing, I had some questions for the original owner. I called him and explained what I did. He had a Structure scan box and a separate transducer as well sonar.. He mentioned that the transducer that came with my unit does it it all and that I shouldn't need the structure scan box or that extra transducer. Is this true? I left everything in place. Should I leave it there and have it a back up. Or sell it? Tight Lines, Rob in Montana

NoCAL
Posts: 515
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:20 pm
Location: Woodland, CA

Re: Structure scan box question

Postby NoCAL » Sun May 07, 2017 5:15 pm

HDS non-Touch units require a StructureScan module connected to the unit by Ethernet to show Sidescanning images. The LSS transducer connects to the StructureScan module, there is no connector on the back of a non-Touch. On the back of the HDS 8 you should have a Sonar, a power, and an Ethernet cable. That is the only way it will work. Gen 2 Touch units can have an LSS transducer connected directly as the StructureScan hardware is in the unit. Gen 3 units can use a TotalScan transducer which has 2D, Sidescan, and downscan all in one.

NoCAL

1simplemann
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:32 am

Re: Structure scan box question

Postby 1simplemann » Sun May 07, 2017 8:22 pm

If I understand you correctly, I can directly connect the the LSS transducer to the Gen 2 bypassing the the structure scan box? The transducer that came with the Gen is HDI. I would need both ducers to have SS/DS and sonar?

NoCAL
Posts: 515
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:20 pm
Location: Woodland, CA

Re: Structure scan box question

Postby NoCAL » Mon May 08, 2017 10:04 am

It's not clear to me what units you have. You say you upgraded "to" HDS-8 Gen 2. Does that mean you have those units or you upgraded "two HDS-8s" to something else. In my first post, I detailed all the connections from Gen 2 non-Touch up through Gen 3. So whatever units you have, there are specific ways to view StructureScan. You cannot connect an LSS directly to a non-Touch unit. If you indeed have now Gen 3 units with the TotalScan transducer, you do not need the LSS or StructureScan module. But be aware, the TS transducer must be mounted to the transom and is very picky about location. If not installed perfectly, it will not read while on plane. There are better options IMO for the stern of the boat than the TS.

NoCAL

Ken Sauret
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 7:39 pm
Location: Paso Robles California
Contact:

Re: Structure scan box question

Postby Ken Sauret » Mon May 08, 2017 10:42 am

Now that you throw in an HDI transducer, that is a separate, stand alone transducer that has Broadband (traditional fish finder sonar) and Down Scan only (no side scan) in that one transducer. An HDI transducer is a Transom/Trolling Motor-mounted, 83 kHz/200 kHz Broadband and DownScan™ transducer. If you want Side Scan AND Down Scan, you will need an LSS-2 transducer. If you have HDS Gen 2 Key Pad units, then you will need the LSS-2 Structure Scan box to connect to the Key Pad units.

The Key Pad units only have one port on the back of the units for Sonar, this is the Broadband Sonar only, unless you have an HDI transducer. It will plug into that Sonar port. If you want Down Scan AND Side Scan, then you will need the LSS-2 box because the LSS-2 transducer will plug into the box and then connect to the Key Pad unit via an Ethernet cable. The box will also have it's own dedicated power cable that will need to be connected to a hot and ground source.
Ken Sauret
Lowrance Pro Staff
http://www.lowrance.com/
http://www.dobynsrods.com/
http://www.yamaha-motor.com/
http://kensbassfishing.weebly.com/

1simplemann
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:32 am

Re: Structure scan box question

Postby 1simplemann » Mon May 08, 2017 6:46 pm

My bad for not stating what I had. Ok Here it goes. I HAD 2- HDS 7's w/ buttons.1 @ the bow and 1 @ the console. I assume Gen 1? Cabelas is clearing out their HDS 8" Gen 2's touch screens at a pretty decent price so I bought 3 for the price of 2. 1 for the bow and 2 for the console. 1 at the console wasn't enough. Plus I can't see as good anymore so splitting a screen 3 ways wasn't gonna cut it. The original owner had a structure scan box and a long ducer which I'm assuming was/is an LSS. I had SS and DS with it. Also I had a little ducer next to it which was sonar. The old, little ducer stopped working on the last trip last year. I had no sonar but still had DS/SS. The new units all came with HDI ducer's. I installed all 3 unit's plus the HDI ducer. I left the long ducer alone since I thought I needed it for DS/SS. I have an ether net cable coming from the box to the new unit and a jumper ethernet cable over to the 2nd. The bow unit did not change. The boat's original owner led me to believe that I no longer needed the box or the LSS ducer because the new HDI ducer did it all. (Sonar,DS and SS.) I was/am just trying to verify his claim. It sounds like he is wrong and I would still need everything. If he's not then I'll remove what I don't need and sell it to someone who can use it. I hope this clears it up. Thanks in advance

NoCAL
Posts: 515
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:20 pm
Location: Woodland, CA

Re: Structure scan box question

Postby NoCAL » Mon May 08, 2017 8:22 pm

You still need both. The HDI is 2D sonar and Downscan. The LSS provides Sidescan and Downscan. The HDS Gen 2 non-Touch units require the StructureScan module to provide side and down Scanning. So your HDI will only provide 2D sonar when connected to HDS-8s. In the Installation menu you should select something like HST-WSBL 83/200. What really bugs me is that Cabela's would bundle the HDS-8s with an HDI when they won't work together.

NoCAL

Wait a minute, I just reread your post. We have a major problem in helping you. There is no 8" Touch screen. So until we know EXACTLY what units you have and what generation they are, we cannot provide help. Don't you have the boxes? They will say what they are. Just to be clear, there is no HDS 8 Touch.

NoCAL
Posts: 515
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:20 pm
Location: Woodland, CA

Re: Structure scan box question

Postby NoCAL » Mon May 08, 2017 8:35 pm

I think I found what you have. Did you get HDS-9 Gen 2 Touch with HDI transducer for $849?

The HDI transducer will connect directly to those units and provide 2D and Downscan. Personally, I would just leave the StructureScan module and LSS in place like they are and keep your Ethernet cables just like they are. You can only show Downscan from one source at a time so your HDI is a waste but it will still work for just 2D. In the Installation menu if you set the transducer as HDI you will constantly have to tell the unit what source you want the Downscan data to come from. If you don't want to deal with that, select HST-WSBL.

I wouldn't try to remove stuff and sell it. Selling a StructureScan module without the transducer is a losing proposition. The only real viable alternative is pull out both the module and the LSS-1 and buy an LSS-2. That would connect directly to the back of your new unit and provide Side and Down. The LSS-1 that you currently have is just better if it connects into the module.

NoCAL

1simplemann
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2017 7:32 am

Re: Structure scan box question

Postby 1simplemann » Tue May 09, 2017 6:50 pm

Thank You. You gave me everything I needed to know plus a little extra. I didn't know about the source issue. Yes that would have been frustrating. You scared me for a second by saying it didn't exist because there 2 of them on my kitchen table! You indeed found what I bought. Thanks again


Return to “Lowrance Product Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests