1st boat decisions and questions

Stewy119fishes

1st boat decisions and questions

Post by Stewy119fishes »

Hello all,

I'm new to Western Bass, but not new to fishing. I grew up fishing the lakes of Central Missouri with my dad when I got to see him. He has a 1999 Ranger R83 Sport, and that boat has been amazing for him. I was based out of Southern California until last year when I relocated to NorCal. Getting back into fishing, with all of the wonderful fisheries here, has been amazing. I am very excited to take my fishing to a new level. I have made a friend who has a boat (Nitro Z18), but at 39, it's probably time to get one of my own. 25 years of fishing from the back seat is probably enough. Not that I am in any way ungrateful, I would just like to fish on my schedule.

My wife and I are both teachers, so needless to say, money is limited. There is no way a $50k+ boat is going to happen; atleast until I retire.

I have been out on a couple demos, and I have fallen in love with the Ultrex trolling motor. My boat will have to have one, and it will save me thousands in needing Power poles later on. Other than that, the standard rigs are fine.

I have been looking at Aluminum (Ranger 198P, etc...) and am frustrated on how expensive they get once you put a decent pair of graphs on them and an Ultrex. I might as well buy an 18ft glass boat for that price, which is where I am stuck. It is really hard to pick one when they all look and perform pretty much the same.

I am researching all the 18 footers, and they are all equppied similarly around the same price (150HP, single axle trailer, etc...). The Nitro is less money, but once you get it to the same level of equipment, it is very close in price.

All this being said, I need a boat to last the next 15 years until retirement time. I will fish weekends, during my breaks from school, and a lot during the summer. It has to be reliable, and low maintence. I really don't want boat to mean Bust Out Another Thousand...