Accessing Little Franks?

TRIXGOTAFISH

Accessing Little Franks?

Post by TRIXGOTAFISH »

Quick question as I'm still learning the delta and all it has to offer and since I just picked up a new to me boat I'd like to explore and have heard many good things about the area but according to my old skool topo map it looks tricky and very shallow to get into the area

I'm not trying to poach people's spots just trying to be safe as to not damage the glass boat in skinny water or by any submerged obstacles that may not be on the old map lol

The other area I've never been into before is the big break area but it look very shallow and tricky to access as well from say Russo's any suggestions there?

Thanks for the help/advice I may try to head out this weekend if the wifey lets me and it's not too busy like a couple Sunday's ago!
monte300

Re: Accessing Little Franks?

Post by monte300 »

Don't get in a hurry, trim your motor way up and pay attention!
Burke

Post by Burke »

Check out the access points at low tide so you get an ideal of how shallow it is. Going in at high tide will make it safer, but knowing what it looks like at low tide will let you know which spot you can use to leave as the tide recedes.
Last edited by Burke on Fri Sep 29, 2017 8:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
db220

Post by db220 »

I only go through the openings in Little Franks with my trolling motor. On the wrong tide you can destroy a prop and shaft pretty easily. Ask me how I know.
Moleman

Post by Moleman »

On the farthest up opening, closest to Russo's marina, there is a small gap that lets you get in on low tide. It's on the far right, and if you get your boat right up against the tulle clump you can usually get in fine without your trolling motor. I generally just use my trolling motor cus I fish the top with the wood a lot anyways and it's safer.
mark poulson

Post by mark poulson »