Is there difference between stock bearings and ABEC???

crazychuy

Is there difference between stock bearings and ABEC???

Post by crazychuy »

To All,

What are the differences and benefits between stock and ABEC bearings in a Curado 200e and Curado 300D?

What are the beneficial factors of the bearings?

I'm new to Shimano reels. I'm coming over from Daiwa reels.

Thanks,
Tony
DanIsaac

Re: Is there difference between stock bearings and ABEC???

Post by DanIsaac »

Bantam1 is gone doing field testing this week, but let me try and explain
ABEC:

ABEC stands for Annular Bearing Engineers' Committee. This committee works to determine the standards for bearings for the Anti-Friction Bearing Manufacturers Association (AFBMA).

The ABEC scale classifies different accuracy and tolerance ranges for bearings.
The higher the ABEC rating the higher the quality grade bearing, or as some equate, the faster the bearing.

ABEC1
ABEC3
ABEC5
ABEC7
ABEC9
Shimano and most other reels come with ABEC3 bearings as stock. There are a few exceptions, but not too many. Both the E7 and 300's come with ABEC3's.

Hope this helps,

Dan
ReelEx, your source for quality, professional service on your Shimano, Lews, or Revo reels.

Guaranteed 96 hr turnaround on service.
650-454-4938 http://www.reel-ex.com
mark poulson

Post by mark poulson »

Dan,
Are there any maintenance-free bearings?
Attitude plus effort equal success
CLEAN AND DRY
DanIsaac

Post by DanIsaac »

FULL CERAMIC or CERAMIC HYBRIDS are about as close as one can get to maintenance free. Like anything else though, even they will need to be cleaned every year or so.

Dan
ReelEx, your source for quality, professional service on your Shimano, Lews, or Revo reels.

drew

Post by drew »

The ABEC rating is a tolerance not a quality rating.
DanIsaac

Post by DanIsaac »

I was speaking in general terms. Generally the higher than ABEC rating, the tighter the tolerances, thus, the smoother, faster the bearing.

Dan

drew

Post by drew »