Keep your eye out for tagged bass in the Delta

electric

Keep your eye out for tagged bass in the Delta

Post by electric »

Hi all, I am a researcher at UC Davis and I’m working on a 2-year study on largemouth bass in the Delta. Our goals are to learn more about the size of bass population in the Delta, their habitat use, and feeding habits throughout the year. We have over 30 locations throughout the Delta that we electroshock every other month. We tag all bass over 7 inches with a Floy Tag (pictures below)- each has a unique number so that when the fish is re-captured, we can look up where they were originally caught. Since we collect stomach contents from every fish we tag- we can also look up what it has been eating. The tags are pretty small, but are bright yellow with black lettering, and they will always be in the same place: on the left side of the fish, just beneath the dorsal fin where the spiny portion ends.

Please reply to this if you catch a fish with one of these tags- I would really appreciate any information you have! The most important things to know are the tag number, where you caught it, and where you released it, or if you kept it. If you release it- it is a huge help if you leave the tag in the fish since we can use the number of fish that we recapture at each site to estimate population size. And- feel free to spread the word. :D