Striper Question

Mike Kontes

Striper Question

Post by Mike Kontes »

Gentlemen Who Know:

When do you fish for stripers in the dead end sloughs, when do you fish for them in main channel, when in the flooded islands and why?

I am a beginner and want to learn. I have a professional trip scheduled and I am going to ask these questions, but want to get ahead of the learning curve.

Why Big Break and Sherman? Why Discover Bay? Why Beaver or Sycamore? And when do be in these areas????

If you want to share something personal, please PM me. Remember, I am learning and need details, not spots.

Thanks,

Mike
Austen

Re: Striper Question

Post by Austen »

Great questions with tons of answers im sure. Im a beginner myself. Love to see what everyone has to say.

Austen
JustinD

Post by JustinD »

Mike we have spoke before.......Best Best Best Best advice anyone can give you is to fish and fish often. The tackle and the like you can learn from a pro/guide and these little tricks in rods, baits, line, knots, ect.....But nothing and I mean nothing can beat time and all out effort. Can't remember if your retired, working, or what but just start before day and fish all day long for several days (into dark) and eventually one day you'll be in the right place, time, date, tide, wind, school, baitfish, ect.....Then just take all that fun...and it will be fun...and sit down right after and enter intio your dome everything. Don't forget it and recreate it the best you can as you explore the river. And no matter how long you have been fishing the river there is always new things to learn and explore.
LL South
CBoat

Post by CBoat »

The answers to your questions can fill a book. These are not simple questions. We have all caught fish where we thought stripers would hang out, then other times we have all caught fish in spots we least expected. It takes time on the water and a good guide will give you a tremendous head start.