gas

mark poulson

gas

Post by mark poulson »

What octane gas do you guys run in your boats?
I'm asking because I just switched from 87 to 91, and saw huge performance gain.
Attitude plus effort equal success
CLEAN AND DRY
eagle123777

Re: gas

Post by eagle123777 »

87 as per the merc motor book..i am no expert but could 91 burn to hot to hurt your motor if 87 is recommended.
jack
usaf (ret)
triton 21x2
blkdog812
Location: "If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be

Post by blkdog812 »

non- opti and older motors should be 89 oct.
Never argue with an idiot; He'll beat you to death with stupidity.
I AM NOT SAYING THERE SHOULD BE CAPITAL PUNISHMENT FOR STUPIDITY,
BUT, WHY DON'T WE JUST TAKE THE SAFETY LABELS OFF OF EVERYTHING
AND LET THE PROBLEM SOLVE ITSELF?"
mark poulson

Post by mark poulson »

My Merc. authorized mechanic suggested the switch.
CLEAN AND DRY
blkdog812
Location: "If people concentrated on the really important things in life, there'd be

Post by blkdog812 »

which motor are you running. the 89 oct recommendation can from the merc field rep. premium has too many added chemicals to get the oct rating that is not good for older outboards
Nick Gregg

Post by Nick Gregg »

I recently had my 2001 Mercury 200 EFI rebuilt by our local mercury certified master mechanic, and he scolded me for having not been running premium fuel (91 octane).
mark poulson

Post by mark poulson »

blkdog812 wrote:which motor are you running. the 89 oct recommendation can from the merc field rep. premium has too many added chemicals to get the oct rating that is not good for older outboards
It's a 2007 115 Opti.
CLEAN AND DRY
mark poulson

Post by mark poulson »

Nick Gregg wrote:I recently had my 2001 Mercury 200 EFI rebuilt by our local mercury certified master mechanic, and he scolded me for having not been running premium fuel (91 octane).
My mechanic was shocked when I told him I'd been running 87 octane all these years.