total scan transducer mounting

Moderators: ash, Mike M, Caudawg, Cooch, Ken Sauret

Bass boy dave
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:42 pm

total scan transducer mounting

Postby Bass boy dave » Wed Aug 30, 2017 2:21 pm

im upgrading my units with the hds 12 gen 3. has anyone mounted the total scan transducer to the underside of their hydraulic jack plate. it has a nice big plate between the transom and the motor that would be perfect, just worried if I will get interference from the out board. looks like I have plenty of room. thank you

Ken Sauret
Posts: 690
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 7:39 pm
Location: Paso Robles California
Contact:

Re: total scan transducer mounting

Postby Ken Sauret » Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:36 am

There should be not interference from the big motor. When you mount the transducer, be sure that there are no obstructions on either side of the transducer. For example, if when you trim the big motor all the way down, make sure it does not block any of the view to the side of the ducer.
Ken Sauret
Lowrance Pro Staff
http://www.lowrance.com/
http://www.dobynsrods.com/
http://www.yamaha-motor.com/
http://kensbassfishing.weebly.com/

Bass boy dave
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:42 pm

Re: total scan transducer mounting

Postby Bass boy dave » Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:24 am

thank you

User avatar
Edd
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: total scan transducer mounting

Postby Edd » Wed Oct 25, 2017 8:49 am

You said TotalScan......is your jackplate in the water when you are on pad?
Pro-Staff: Lowrance Electronics
Pro-Staff: Scotty Fishing Products
Pro-Staff: Mack's Lure/Shasta Tackle
Pro-Staff: SHARK Cannonballs
Pro-Staff: Water Wolf HD Cameras
Ambassador for Pro Cure Bait Scents

Bass boy dave
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:42 pm

Re: total scan transducer mounting

Postby Bass boy dave » Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:23 am

to the best of my knowledge edd. I used the mounting hardware included in my boat in box kit. it sits about level with the pad or a hair lower once mounted. took it out last Sunday but didn't know I had to activate the transducer couldn't check if it worked or not.

User avatar
Edd
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: total scan transducer mounting

Postby Edd » Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:46 am

That's great but, if you find yourself losing bottom at speed, you might want to try one of the wedges from Transducer Shield and Saver. Mount it between the transducer and the plate.

What do you mean by 'activate' the transducer?
Pro-Staff: Lowrance Electronics
Pro-Staff: Scotty Fishing Products
Pro-Staff: Mack's Lure/Shasta Tackle
Pro-Staff: SHARK Cannonballs
Pro-Staff: Water Wolf HD Cameras
Ambassador for Pro Cure Bait Scents

Bass boy dave
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:42 pm

Re: total scan transducer mounting

Postby Bass boy dave » Wed Oct 25, 2017 10:59 am

when I was at the pages screen and touched the sonar or structure icon the menu would come up. I had water temp but no depth or image of sonar or structure. I went to lowrance online when I got home and watched the set up video. says I have to go to settings and tell the hds what transducer the boat has. I haven't figured out the name I am suppose to use on the menu yet because its not labeled like the box unless I missed it. I haven't done any updates either was planning on trying tonight. if you recommend a adapter or pad I think I will order that as well. my ranger has a bobs jack plate and is quite bigger than a atlas so I have room on the plate between the transom and outboard.

User avatar
Edd
Posts: 175
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2016 1:08 pm

Re: total scan transducer mounting

Postby Edd » Wed Oct 25, 2017 11:33 am

The TotalScan transducer should be in the list of transducers. I wouldn't order the wedge until you get everything dialed in.
Pro-Staff: Lowrance Electronics
Pro-Staff: Scotty Fishing Products
Pro-Staff: Mack's Lure/Shasta Tackle
Pro-Staff: SHARK Cannonballs
Pro-Staff: Water Wolf HD Cameras
Ambassador for Pro Cure Bait Scents

Bass boy dave
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:42 pm

Re: total scan transducer mounting

Postby Bass boy dave » Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:03 pm

thanks edd always a help to every one. I really appreciate it.

drew
Posts: 1023
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 1:30 pm

Re: total scan transducer mounting

Postby drew » Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:14 pm

It should auto recognize the totalscan. If not it is listed in the list of transducers. I made a the mount below for mine.
Image

Bass boy dave wrote:when I was at the pages screen and touched the sonar or structure icon the menu would come up. I had water temp but no depth or image of sonar or structure. I went to lowrance online when I got home and watched the set up video. says I have to go to settings and tell the hds what transducer the boat has. I haven't figured out the name I am suppose to use on the menu yet because its not labeled like the box unless I missed it. I haven't done any updates either was planning on trying tonight. if you recommend a adapter or pad I think I will order that as well. my ranger has a bobs jack plate and is quite bigger than a atlas so I have room on the plate between the transom and outboard.
Last edited by drew on Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:03 am, edited 2 times in total.

Bass boy dave
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2016 7:42 pm

Re: total scan transducer mounting

Postby Bass boy dave » Wed Oct 25, 2017 12:18 pm

wow... very nice


Return to “Lowrance Product Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests