2009 Bassmaster Classic Field Set

Roughly three months away from the 2009 Bassmaster Classic, the full field of 51 anglers was finalized Saturday with David Williams of Maiden, N.C., winning the Toyota Tundra Bassmaster Weekend Series Championship Operated by American Bass Anglers and scoring the final Classic berth. The 39th edition of the Classic will be held Feb. 20-22 on the Red River out of Shreveport-Bossier City, La.

The field is highlighted by Kim Bain-Moore, the first female to compete in a Bassmaster Classic. Bain earned her berth by capturing the Toyota Tundra Women’s Bassmaster Angler of the Year title on the strength of a banner performance on the Women’s Bassmaster Tour presented by Academy Sports & Outdoors.

Also qualifying were the top 36 anglers in the Toyota Tundra Bassmaster Angler of the Year standings derived from the 2008 Bassmaster Elite Series; the top three anglers in the Bassmaster Open points standings in each of two 2008 Opens Divisions; six amateur competitors through the 2008 BASS Federation Nation Championship and Alton Jones of Waco, Texas, the defending Classic champion. In the case of anglers who qualified through two avenues, BASS worked down the Angler of the Year rankings. The full list of competitors can be found below arranged alphabetically.

“It’s an honor to qualify for the Bassmaster Classic and we congratulate all of the qualified anglers on their terrific seasons,” said Jamie Wilkinson, BASS senior director of event operations and business development. “We are excited for what promises to be a historic Bassmaster Classic.”

According to BASS rules, the Red River will become off-limits to Bassmaster Classic participants Dec. 15. Anglers will get another crack at the fishery during the official practice period, set for Feb. 13-15, and a final look Feb. 18.

The competition will feature daily launches at 7:15 a.m. CT Feb. 20-22 at Red River South Marina. Daily weigh-ins will take place at the CenturyTel Center at 3:30 p.m. CT. The 2009 Classic will be hosted by the Shreveport Regional Sports Authority.

The tournament will receive more than 10 hours of television coverage on ESPN2 during the three-day event.

About BASS

For 40 years, BASS has served as the authority on bass fishing. With its considerable multi-media platforms and expansive tournament trail, BASS is guided by its mission to serve all fishing fans. Through its industry-leading publications Bassmaster Magazine, BASS Times and Fishing Tackle Retailer and comprehensive Web properties in Bassmaster.com and ESPNOutdoors.com, the organization is committed to delivering content true to the lifestyle. Additionally, television programming on ESPN2 continues to provide relevant content – from tips and techniques to in-depth tournament coverage – to passionate audiences.

The organization oversees the prestigious Bassmaster tournament trail, which includes the Bassmaster Elite Series, Bassmaster Opens, Women’s Bassmaster Tour and the Bassmaster Classic, the ultimate celebration of competitive fishing. Through its grassroots network, the BASS Federation Nation, BASS sanctions more than 20,000 events annually.

BASS also offers an array of services to its more than 500,000 members while spearheading progressive, positive change on issues related to conservation and water access. The organization is headquartered in Celebration, Fla.

For more information, contact BASS Communications at (407) 566-2208 or visit www.bassmaster.com/classic

2009 Bassmaster Classic Contenders

1. Casey Ashley Donalds, S.C.
2. Kim Bain-Moore Alabaster, Ala.
3. Ken Baumgardner Monongahela, Pa.
4. Michael Burns Plano, Texas
5. Brent Chapman Lake Quivira, Kan.
6. Rick Clunn Ava, Mo.
7. Mark Davis Mt. Ida, Ark.
8. Boyd Duckett Demopolis, Ala.
9. Jay Evans Corvallis, Mont.
10. Edwin Evers Talala, Okla.
11. Todd Faircloth Jasper, Texas
12. Terry Fitzpatrick Waukon, Iowa
13. Jami Fralick Martin, S.D.
14. Shaw Grigsby Gainesville, Fla.
15. Greg Hackney Gonzales, La.
16. Matt Herren Trussville, Ala.
17. Kenyon Hill Norman, Okla.
18. Davy Hite Ninety Six, S.C.
19. Randy Howell Springville, Ala.
20. Timmy Horton Muscle Shoals, Ala.
21. Bryan Hudgins Orange Park, Fla.
22. Michael Iaconelli Runnemede, N.J.
23. Alton Jones Waco, Texas
24. Kelly Jordon Mineola, Texas
25. Steve Kennedy Auburn, Ala.
26. Kotaro Kiriyama Moody, Ala.
27. Gary Klein Weatherford, Texas
28. Bobby Lane Lakeland, Fla.
29. Bill Lowen North Bend, Ohio
30. Aaron Martens Leeds, Ala.
31. Mike McClelland Bella Vista, Ark.
32. Ish Monroe Hughson, Calif.
33. Rick Morris Virginia Beach, Va.
34. Scott Parker Londonberry, N.H.
35. Waine Pittman Villa Rica, Ga.
36. Greg Pugh Cullman, Ala.
37. Skeet Reese Auburn, Calif.
38. Dean Rojas Lake Havasu, Ariz.
39. Scott Rook Little Rock, Ark.
40. Fred Roumbanis Bixby, Okla.
41. Bryan Schmidt Olney, Texas
42. Bernie Schultz Gainesville, Fla.
43. Terry Scroggins San Mateo, Fla.
44. Brian Snowden Reeds Spring, Mo.
45. Peter Thliveros St. Augustine, Fla.
46. Kevin VanDam Kalamazoo, Mich.
47. Byron Velvick Del Rio, Texas
48. Dustin Wilks Rocky Mount, N.C.
49. David Williams Maiden, N.C.
50. Kevin Wirth Crestwood, Ky.
51. Dave Wolak Wake Forest, N.C.