Dobyns Rod question

Bassin

Dobyns Rod question

Post by Bassin »

Looking to buy a Dobyns Jerkbait/Crank rod. I want this rod for 80% Jerkbaits/20% Med.- Deep Cranking. I am considering the 705CB Glass, 705CB or 706CB. Which would be the best choice for what I am looking for?

Thanks....
NaCl

Gary will be back in town next week....

Post by NaCl »

Gary is the expert. I suspect he'll have some great insight on your choices next week.

.....NaCl
Bassin

Re: Dobyns Rod question

Post by Bassin »

Let me try this question again....

Thanks....
Ralph Harkins

Post by Ralph Harkins »

From what I was told by gary get the 705cb Glass. But might want to wait till the expert gets back on here to buy it.
www.tritonboats.com
www.reactioninnovations.com
www.galaxiemarine.com
www.dobynsrods.com
Corey Fenske

Post by Corey Fenske »

I have been fishing with prototypes for about six months now. I like the 705cb for jerkbaits/ crankbaits. It is a little lite for DD22's, but if you had to it would work.This rod is perfect for a staysee, pointer 100, speed trap, deep little N. This rod is a good all around reaction bait rod. It will even through a vixen or sammy very well. A super spook is too heavy. If you only had one rod for this, I would get the 705 cb.

I'm not saying the glass rod is not a good choice, I have been a glass guy forever. I build my own to get what I want. But once I fished with the graphite rods that were designed for reaction baits, I was sold. They are lighter, just as much power, and way more sensitive. I think they are more accurate in the casting dept. as well.

I hope I have aswered you questions. If not, send them out , and I will try to help.
Gary Dobyns

Post by Gary Dobyns »

Corey answered just as I would have. I believe you would like the 705CB. It is a true mod-fast action, made with graphite. If you try a graphite cranking rod, most fisherman will give up glass. For the die hard glass guys we are making a few models here also. Thanks.
bassenvy