Question to all of you who catch bigger fish than me...yes t

JB

Question to all of you who catch bigger fish than me...yes t

Post by JB »

So although I have been fishing for other types of fish for many years, I only really started to get the bass bug in the last four years. I have progressed so far in four years it is unbelievable.

When I started, I really only new how to catch bass one way, a split-shot rig that someone once showed me. We got skunked often and we considered it a great day if two of us in a boat caught double digits for numbers, and that was when the bite was supposed to be wide open.

Now, I feel as though we have really figured out how to find and catch bass with great success (for numbers). We started fishing some tournaments just to get a feel for where we were in our learning curve and we caught a limit every single time, even in a couple tough tournaments where only about a quarter of the field managed a limit. When the bite is hot, we experience the 100+ fish days like many of you do. But for the life of me, I can't catch the big fish. I have confidence that I can consistantly catch a limit of fish in any conditions that will put me in the middle of the pack. But I don't think I have ever caught a bag, even fun fishing, that would be near the top of a tournament leaderboard.

How do you get to that next level?

There has to be a fundamental approach that I do not yet understand to catching bigger fish. And don't tell me to put away that split shot. I have since expanded my arsenal and have caught fish with just about every technique out there. Even when I am throwing a "big fish" bait, I just continue to catch average fish. It is not just the bait, it has to be the whole approach. I have got on to bites with spinnerbaits, big cranks, frogs, large rip baits (pointer 128's) and still only catch small to average fish.