On board charger problems?

Turkeyman

On board charger problems?

Post by Turkeyman »

I'm having an issue with my on-board charger. One battery doesn't seem to charge all the way and we end up losing power to the trolling motor with heavy use. There is a burnt fuse in the charger lead going to this battery, it has heated up to the point that it has fried the fuse holder. It is a Pro-Mariner 300 Quad for a 36 volt systems. It also doesn't seem to startup in the fast charge mode when I plug it in from returning from the lake. The charger is still under warranty. Any suggestions?
Grape Ape

Re: On board charger problems?

Post by Grape Ape »

I'm no electrician but If it were my guess....your battery maybe the problem. I had a similiar issue a few years ago and it turn out that the battery was "shorting" out. I'd have your batteries tested before you do anything drastic.
Harry Markarian

Markarian Investigations @ (209) 777-9696
USAF (Retired)
Merced PD (Retired)
C & C Marine
Turkeyman

Post by Turkeyman »

I have went through 3 batteries in 10 months, it is always the same battery.
Ron C

Post by Ron C »

I recommend replacing the bad battery and also recommend replacing your on-board charger with a ProPak-3 (or ProPak-4 depending on how many batteries you have on-board). ProPak chargers are the most efficient on-board chargers out there.

Here is their website: http://www.propakcharger.com/

Ron C
Ken C.

Post by Ken C. »