Help with Lowrance electronics

sfdfishinfool

Help with Lowrance electronics

Post by sfdfishinfool »

I am looking for some advice on my electronics. I have a lcx15mt on the bow and a lms520 on the dash. I want to know what are good ping and sensitivity settings for the delta and foothill lakes. I feel that I have not getting the proper readings. I am just getting into the game and looking for some good advice. Thanks !
jimmy87

Re: Help with Lowrance electronics

Post by jimmy87 »

reset to the factory setting for a starting point.
the sensitivity most of the time is a bit too high for my liking.
I just nudge it down a little bit until most of the clutter is gone.

I leave the ping speed alone.

ping speed will all depend on how fast you are running the boat.

I do all of my graphing with the boat idling. if I pick up much of any speed I loose the details of the bottom. in order to get it back I need to either slow down the boat, or increase the ping speed.
I choose to always search at the same speed.

when you are looking for fish and or structure at the stern, always do this at the same speed. 2 or 3 MPH works for me.

another tip, when the boat is on a ramp, look at the graph and note what that concert looks like. that will show you what a hard bottom looks like. (bass love hard bottom)

when you KNOW you are over weeds in the delta look at the graphs and see how it looks.

same for anything else.

when searching the bottom pivot the stern of the boat left and right. by that I mean turn hard right and hard left over and over.
while just idling along nice and slow.
this will sweep the bottom with the transducer cone much better.
the area that you see on that graph of the bottom is much smaller that we would like to think.
try dropping a 1 ounce spoon under your boat and see it on the graph. vertical jig it up and down. You will be able to see it, but you will learn fast how small that area your graph sees really is. Its a PAIN to keep that spoon on the graph.