what line for 1/4 oz speed traps on the delta

aNNieNsaLTIE

what line for 1/4 oz speed traps on the delta

Post by aNNieNsaLTIE »

Rod, Reel speed n line size? I know there may be sometime i may have to rip a speed trap out of some grass, so i thought about braid, but i hear a lot of "no braid cranking"...

Thanks,
Steven
R.Cook

Re: what line for 1/4 oz speed traps on the delta

Post by R.Cook »

I personally like braid for any cranking in the grass on the delta... just use a little softer rod. A powell 754cb with 30lb power pro is a great setup for cranking any grass on the delta.
acm95301

Post by acm95301 »

I'm not a delta expert, but I've been using speed traps for a long time. I'n my opinion a Dobyn's 704cb glass with 10lb flurocarbon..P-line or yo-zuri (the brands I've liked) is more than suffcient. I've been using braid more often lately, and have really liked the power pro.... maybe the 20-50lb.

The only draw back of a braid is the possibility you might pull it out of thier mouths, but a glass rod or glass hybrid should allow for enough shock absorbsion.

as for reel, everybody is hot for the low spped reels like the diawa zillion cranking reel, but I've havn't seen the need yet and use tehe revo s 6:1 with fine results.
2009 Bass tracker 175 TXW 60 hp
Lowrance HD7 with Lss-1.
Power Drive V2 70lb 24v Minnkota trolling Motor.
aNNieNsaLTIE

Post by aNNieNsaLTIE »

well i was going to go braid...... but i was listening to a pro who lost a lot of money from cranking with braid....... But for speed traps i figure guve it a try since i don't loose to many fish ripping with braid... i have a great calstar that is glass.. i think i am going to give it a try!

Steven
tunaman

Post by tunaman »

Speed traps on the Delta... braid is king. Helps to cut the grass when you're in it, and the fish aren't line shy here as they are on some of the more clear reserviors.

Roger
Tight lines forever!
http://www.tunaman.org