NMEA Starter Kit or ethernet cable only

Moderators: MKA, Mike M, Caudawg, ash, Ken Sauret

User avatar
Gator
Posts: 3784
Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 1:15 pm
Location: Smithville, TN
Contact:

NMEA Starter Kit or ethernet cable only

Postby Gator » Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:18 am

Ken - just got my second HDS-5 and want to network the two together. Do I need the NMEA or just the ethernet?? I am only hooking the two together to share waypoints.

User avatar
ACRon
Posts: 431
Joined: Mon May 23, 2005 8:46 pm

Re: NMEA Starter Kit or ethernet cable only

Postby ACRon » Sat Sep 17, 2011 7:30 am

I am sure Ken will be along soon. But, I have been doing some research since I am getting two HDS installed this week. You only need the ethernet. The NMEA is only needed if you are using outside devices like sensors or External GPS antenna.

Ken Sauret
Posts: 713
Joined: Sun Oct 18, 2009 7:39 pm
Location: Paso Robles California
Contact:

Re: NMEA Starter Kit or ethernet cable only

Postby Ken Sauret » Mon Sep 19, 2011 4:56 pm

Sorry for the delay in my response, I was at Clear Lake over the weekend. For Waypoint sharing you can do this just fine with the ethernet network.
Ken Sauret
Lowrance Pro Staff
http://www.lowrance.com/
http://www.dobynsrods.com/
http://www.yamaha-motor.com/
http://kensbassfishing.weebly.com/


Return to “Lowrance Product Forum”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest