Lures for bigger delta fish

Elo316

Lures for bigger delta fish

Post by Elo316 »

Hi. I'm a Delta Rat. First step is admitting it. I feel I'm in between stages of fishing now as where I was excited to catch any little green dink to now wanting to catch big limits.

I started fishing from the bank with a walmart pole on the delta where I could have access (mostly whiskey slough area) and now am a backseater in a couple clubs with upgraded rods. Sidetrack, why is it that I caught more & better quality from the bank than as a backseater on a boat? Stealth? Location?

Anyways, back to my original question. I have some experience but still new-ish and always last place in my clubs. At first I didn't care because I was on a boat!! Yay!! Right? But now I feel like I want to do at least decent. I think my best 5 was like 10 pounds but rare-ish. Usually I get 3-4 for 5-6 lbs. And, by the way, getting 5 keepers is harder than it looks on tv lol. Thats my other goal is to consistently catch a limit. Is it because I'm a backseater?

Long story short, my go to techniques are drop shot (7" robos) followed by senko (6"). I've gotten 3s, 5s and 7's off them every 1 in 100 (never 5s or 7's in tournaments). I get so many small bites on them though that it builds false confidence and it's hard to put it down. I had a "full proof" plan to get a quick limit with a dropshot and cull later or find the fish with it and throw a bigger bait when I found them. Well, that doesn't work lol. Anyways, my new plan is to throw bigger baits from the get go like a jig, crankbait, chatterbait, frogs or swim jig etc. and maybe leave the dropshot & senko on the deck or at home.