Adding a fuse box to the bow of my boat?

Moderators: MKA, ash, Mike M, Caudawg

TMURRELL18
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 9:05 am

Adding a fuse box to the bow of my boat?

Postby TMURRELL18 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 7:36 am

Can anyone assist me in the process of wiring a second fuse box. I wish to put one on the bow of my boat so that I don’t have to keep pulling up the floor panel to run wires. Do I just need to run a +/- wire from the cranking battery to the fuse box?

JL
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:40 am

Re: Adding a fuse box to the bow of my boat?

Postby JL » Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:36 pm

Basically yes, but I would fuse the wire going to the fuse box and use the aproppriate wire size to your new fuse box and then fuse accordingly to your accessories.

WRB
Posts: 339
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 8:47 pm
Location: Simi Valley

Re: Adding a fuse box to the bow of my boat?

Postby WRB » Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:47 pm

You don't need a fuse box, just a terminal block. 1 fused Power wire to feed the terminal block and good ground. Remember the bow of a boat gets wet!
Tom

User avatar
Mitch
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 5:33 am
Location: Fresno, Ca

Re: Adding a fuse box to the bow of my boat?

Postby Mitch » Wed Feb 13, 2019 11:41 am

I mounted a fused block to the underside of my front STBD locker lid, then I ran a 12 ga wire from the SWITCHED side of the Starting Battery breaker, (RED) to the POS side of the fuse block and a BLACK wire from the NEG post of the Starting Battery to the NEG connection on the Fuse Block

Then used 14 ga from EACH Graph to its own fused connection on the Fuse Block

14 or 16 from any other powered device. IE: Hydrowave, Ultrex Positioning Puck, etc

Fuse Block 1.jpg


Fuse Block 2.jpg


Fuse Block 3.jpg
2007 "Numb Nut"

Ranger Boats-Mercury Motors
Minnkota-Optama Batterys
Gloomis-Shimano
Pepper Jigs-Robo Worms

JL
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu Feb 21, 2013 10:40 am

Re: Adding a fuse box to the bow of my boat?

Postby JL » Wed Feb 13, 2019 1:58 pm

Nice clean install!

mark poulson
Posts: 9112
Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 4:16 am
Location: Oakley, Ca.

Re: Adding a fuse box to the bow of my boat?

Postby mark poulson » Thu Feb 14, 2019 8:21 am

Be sure to use stranded copper wire, not solid and not aluminum. Electricity travels on the surface of a wire, and stranded has a lot more surface, plus it is much less prone to metal fatigue breakage from vibration.
Attitude plus effort equal success
CLEAN AND DRY

fastfiat
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 6:15 am

Re: Adding a fuse box to the bow of my boat?

Postby fastfiat » Thu Feb 14, 2019 11:36 am

Marine wire will be tin coated multi strand copper wire.


Return to “Fishing”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Topwater All Day and 31 guests