What's your favorite thing about the Delta?

monte300

What's your favorite thing about the Delta?

Post by monte300 »

I've been fishing the Dirty D for around 30 years and I remember when I started there I struggled hard. My cousin told me to keep going back that I would eventually get better. I believe you pick up little subtle things about moving water when fishing a river that must be learned by doing it. No written word or advice from someone seems nearly as good as on the water experience. Because of my schedule I'm only able to fish around 5 hours every couple of weeks and because of that I want to spend every minute of that time fishing techniques that I love to fish. The thing I love most is that I can have at least some success year round force feeding fish squarebills and lipless crankbaits. I once caught an 8 pounder at 2:00PM on a 100+ degree August day in 3 feet of water. What lake can one do that on? Oh sure it's bass fishing and some days I'm the windshield and other days I'm the bug. I don't have time to tournament fish and quite frankly even if I did it would force me to fish techniques I don't enjoy. So basically, I would be donating my entry fee. I haven't even touched on the potential to catch a giant. What is it you like best about the Delta?
ash
SpeedBump

Re: What's your favorite thing about the Delta?

Post by ash »

Great Question Monte - for me it's that i truly believe with any given cast that i can hook a giant! The Delta has provided me with the best days of fishing and the worse - sometimes back to back. There is a mystery to the Delta, it's never the same to me. I love the sounds, and sights watching it feels really up close and personal vs a lake where im staring down at the graph more than immersed into the fishes environment.

There a lot of great memories for me on the Delta and I get to be with them when im out there. Damn i love that river.
- JaJa Jigs - Get THUNKED
Links to Check Out -
https://www.instagram.com/jm_ash/