Bass Boat

New To Bass Fishing

Bass Boat

Post by New To Bass Fishing »

I am very new to bass fishing at age 70. Is it specifically required to have a "bass boat" to compete as an amateur? Can I have a boat with a portable live well?.
MichaelB

Re: Bass Boat

Post by MichaelB »

If you are planning on fishing competitively in tournaments you will require a functioning and aerated livewell.
Does not need to be "built-in" ..... there are kits available to convert ice chests into a livewell, but they do not function as well as a built in livewell. It is very much frowned upon to bring dead fish to the scales in a tournament.
Converted ice chests are also problematic during hot summer months when it is a challenge to keep fish alive.
monte300

Post by monte300 »

New To Bass Fishing wrote:I am very new to bass fishing at age 70. Is it specifically required to have a "bass boat" to compete as an amateur? Can I have a boat with a portable live well?.
You could fish as a non boater and not have to worry about the livewell situation
Bass boy dave

Post by Bass boy dave »

make sure youre rigged as per instructions and rules and have at it. might be tough in the summer tho. seen two kids in a john boat upset about 100 boats in a future pro tournament a couple years ago lol. boat dont make the man.. or woman. good luck and welcome to the sport. also a bass club or co angler entry might be ideal
MT

Post by MT »

^^^I was thinking of those same two kids when I started reading this. They kicked alot of people's butts on several occasions.^^^
WRB

Post by WRB »

New To Bass Fishing wrote:I am very new to bass fishing at age 70. Is it specifically required to have a "bass boat" to compete as an amateur? Can I have a boat with a portable live well?.
Welcome to bass fishing.
Do you own a boat now that you want to add a livewell to? You can certainly bass fish woithout a livewell, it's only mandatory for tournament weigh ins.