Co Anglers ... Will they become extinct... Thoughts?

WB Staff

Co Anglers ... Will they become extinct... Thoughts?

Post by WB Staff »

38 where will all the coanglers go bryan new flw.jpg
Bryan New above (an FLW Tour Co-angler... or should we say former FLW Tour Co-Angler and the 2014 Forrest Wood Cup co champion)

We had an article in this month's issue of WB mag on Co-Anglers being an endangered species... with some thoughts of FLW anglers and where that evolution goes.

Here is the read, if you missed it... https://storage.westernbass.com/mag_wb/ ... index.html

Kinda wondering on what more fisherman's throughts were on the co's future? or the org's futures without them?
george

Re: Co Anglers ... Will they become extinct... Thoughts?

Post by george »

I started fishing tournaments in the 80's as a Co-Angler and as I built up the confidence I graduated to the front of the boat. I found that most all of the Co's were new to the sport or new to tournament fishing and just needed to test the waters and gain the confidence of moving to the front of the boat!
I also found that many of the Co's had not gained the knowledge and experience of how to be competitive in a tournament setting so I put together a seminar series called "The Bass Class" where Pro speakers like Larry Hemphill, Gary Dobyns, Bobby Barrack, Andy "Cooch" Cuchia, Don Payne, Dee Thomas and Steve Sapp came in and shared their knowledge from every aspect of bass fishing and how to prepare for a tournament.

What I found was that the new guys learned, fished and gained the confidence to move to the front of the boat within a few years as well as they pulled their fishing buddies into tournament fishing and started the whole progression all over again!
As the economy crashed and burned in 2006-2010 so did the local and regional tournament promoters as well as the