Hawaiian Ocean Sport Fishing

duckhuntr07

Hawaiian Ocean Sport Fishing

Post by duckhuntr07 »

So, I'm going to Ouahu in July and I was wondering if anyone would be so kind as to recommend a charter for some sport fishing while I'm there.

It's my first time there so I'm not necessarily going specifically for the big Marlins but I do want to have some fun and hope to catch some Ahi and/or Mahimahi.

So if any of you guys could point me to a good charter over there I'd be greatful.

Thanks,

Chris
JustinD

Re: Hawaiian Ocean Sport Fishing

Post by JustinD »

hey big boy....never fished on Oahu but many times on Kauia. Over there they call dorado = dolphin and wahoo = ono. But I believe Kona is one of the best billfisheries that hit the 1000 fantom mark not far off the coast. Big pelagics. Where you been hidin' out?
LL South
duckhuntr07

Post by duckhuntr07 »

No Hiding buddy, just livin the deam (i.e. workin my arse off).

How about you? Been stickin any of those south Delta donkeys?

New screen name????
Dan McKenzie

Post by Dan McKenzie »

IMHO- Hawaiin charters are typically very disappointing, others may disagree, but this has been my experience. They are very expensive (double what you would pay in Baja) short usually 6 hours, and they just don't work that hard for fish. My last trip I brought my rods and surf fished all over the island. There is a fresh water lake Wahiawa called Lake Wilson, it has LM/SM, peacock bass, red devils, oscars, and a whole bunch of other fish, hire a guide for half a day or a full day. In Waialua, stop at the Kuuloa Kai Hawaii‎, their a tackle shop, they can direct you to an inlet around the corner where you can catch mangrove snapper? Im not positive what they are, look like mangrove snapper to me.