merc rebuild?

gomester

merc rebuild?

Post by gomester »

Ok, fun day today. Seems like I have a blown motor. I am not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination so need to see if anybody knows of either a good inexpensive mechanic to rebuild the motor or if somebody has a motor for inexpensive for sale. This is a merc 175 efi. Not quite sure what happened but there is metal all over; brackets, springs, etc.
Anyways, I need to get this checked out and fixed and the economy has hit me as well so I am looking to save some bucks or wait until tax season next year or take a huge loss and sell the boat which I really don't want to do since I have only had it a couple of months.

Thanks in advance.
Pictures at http://picasaweb.google.com/gomestoc/MercBlownMotor#
Last edited by gomester on Sat Jun 06, 2009 3:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Jim Moulton

Re: merc rebuild?

Post by Jim Moulton »

What area do you live in? Jim
gomester

Post by gomester »

San jose
rickd

Post by rickd »

The guys over at Boatmasters rebuild motors in the winter, give them a call they may have one laying around.
Guy Kelley

Post by Guy Kelley »

Ok here goes nothing !

After my Merc 200 efi when Kaboom at the winter nutcase in Jan of this year. I decided to take it to the what i thought was one of the best Oasis Sport Boats in Redding. They were the Old California Custom Marine and a Ranger dealership. The head mec there had been with em for years (Calvin) and he really knows his stuff and has done work on the engine/ boat over the years, mine is a 393vs 94 vintage. It was originally purchased from them.