smelly jelly and round rubber

fishbonz412

smelly jelly and round rubber

Post by fishbonz412 »

Maybe I'm a newbie, but I've recently noted that the skirts on my jigs that have round rubber instead of silicon seem to stick together if I put smelly jelly on it. I've tried soaking them in water, even soapy water. However that stickiness stays. I had one jig where I had to cut off all the rubber. It has now happened on another jig recently.

Has anyone else noted this too? What attractant can you use on rubber skirts without the rubber sticking to itself? Thanks.
--Sometimes it is best to be quiet and be thought the fool than to speak out and remove all doubt---
MT

Re: smelly jelly and round rubber

Post by MT »

That stuff does gum them up pretty bad. Megastrike isn't as bad. Try putting the attractant just on your trailer and don't bother rubbing it into your skirt. The fish won't care. You can buy a cheap skirt making tool and some silicone material and make you own skirts when you wear them out or cut them off.
ScottyJ

Post by ScottyJ »

Clean the skirts with mineral oil. Its gets em clean and keeps em from sticking together
"Jig fish are big fish"
mark poulson

Post by mark poulson »

I wonder if you can add plastisol scent, like garlic, to the mineral oil.
Just thinking out loud.
Attitude plus effort equal success
CLEAN AND DRY
ScottyJ

Post by ScottyJ »

mark poulson wrote:I wonder if you can add plastisol scent, like garlic, to the mineral oil.
Just thinking out loud.
Yup u sure can. I have a squeeze bottle of mineral oil and garlic salt that i take with me to apply. I have some with anise oil in it too. Pretty much mix anything with it.

Also keeps the skirts from drying out. You can apply it to any soft plastic for that matter.
"Jig fish are big fish"
Andy Giannini

Post by Andy Giannini »

Bang spray tends to lubricate lures.