Issue w/ HDS 7 Gen 3 not showing current location

Moderator: Ken Sauret

TRIXGOTAFISH

Issue w/ HDS 7 Gen 3 not showing current location

Post by TRIXGOTAFISH »

Quick question for you guys as i'm somewhat new to the newer gen Lowrance units.

This unit came with the boat i just purchased so it's been used and had a navionics card in it i'm pretty sure but it didn't come with a card when i got a hold of it.

Anyway yesterday i quickly hooked up power to it to test it out and it fired up but it never showed my actual location??

Do i need to reset something back to factory settings?

I know they have their own internal gps so i found it strange that it never finally showed my location???

I checked what setting i could and it did have the navionics card as it's preset so i switched it to lowrance instead (not sure if that's correct or not)

Any help is appreciated!
Edd

Re: Issue w/ HDS 7 Gen 3 not showing current location

Post by Edd »

Where did it show you?
TRIXGOTAFISH

Post by TRIXGOTAFISH »

Edd wrote:Where did it show you?
It didn't show much of anything!

It showed what looked to be a generic looking land mass and you could zoom in and out but i couldn't recognize the area and it never showed any street names etc??

Wish i would have took a quick vid or pic to help explain as i'm probably not doing a very good job of it verbally lol

Thanks for the help Edd (if it's easier to communicate via phone please pm your number and i'll call you tonight)
Edd

Post by Edd »

Some things to look at.
1 make sure you are not in ‘simulator mode’
2 try zooming IN extremely close.
3 make sure you have a clear view of the sky.
Yes a pic would help us.

Edd
TRIXGOTAFISH

Post by TRIXGOTAFISH »

Edd wrote:Some things to look at.
1 make sure you are not in ‘simulator mode’
2 try zooming IN extremely close.
3 make sure you have a clear view of the sky.
Yes a pic would help us.

Edd
I'll double check all those and will snap a pic or quick vid tonight after work!