Private Lake...State Water

texas john

Post by texas john »

Ok there is a lake close to me that is an amazing bass fishery. Just this year we have caught and released 1 11+ lber and many in the 5-8 range. This lake is located in a gated community however the dam that was built to create the lake abuts a main road that is patroled by CHP. There is a public access point at the road where many many people fish from the bank on a regular basis and where we would occasionally launch a little aluminum row boat and go fishing. On a trip earlier this year the security stopped us from launching and told us since we were not residents we could not launch a boat onto the lake. Being a land surveyor by trade I know the lakes water is from a state river and there for the water my boat is floating in is owned by the state. After this run in with security and us informing them of the laws they told us we could fish. About a month after this my Uncle was out on the lake one after noon when the head of the home owners association approached him with security, they verified the boat was currently registered and he was propperly licensed and procedeed to inform him that they were in the process of getting the county to pass an ordinance preventing people from launching their small boats/float tubes ect onto the lake. As always he was very curtiouse and continued fishing with out any problems. Now as a little back info, we never get out of the boat, never mess with anyones things ect, we just want to fish the lake. All the security people have told us they appreciate our information and how polite we always have been with them, we never really saw the need or reason to argue. The real reason this has become such a hot button issue with the home owners association is that for 30+ years they have been lying to their residents telling them and selling them on the idea that it is a private lake, when in fact the lake is state water. The home owners association is looking at huge revenue