Tournament Tips

Jonnysig

Tournament Tips

Post by Jonnysig »

I cant take it anymore. I read every article I can find, watch every show on tv and I still struggle. I'm not saying I want all the answers because thats not it. I know that if I want to be a better fisherman I have to put in the work. But what I am tired of is trying to find the education through writings and recordings and still feeling lost. So I figured who better to ask than the fisherman themselves.

I have been fishing tournaments for a few years now mostly as a back seater. This is my first year as a boater and man what a difference. Making decisions on your own can get tricky. I am at a slight disadvantage because I have a small boat, small motor, old school depth finder, etc... not complaining. Absolutely love my first rig. Its a great starter. Anyways like I said first year fishing as a boater and I am certainly struggling. I thought I would ask everyone what their best bit of advice would be for a beginner tournament fisherman. I mainly have trouble finding the fish. Do you guys have any good info youd like to share that you picked up in your beginning years? I made a deal with myself that I would study bass biology more to better understand where they might be throughout the year.

Anyway if you could give a first time tournament boater one piece of advice what would it be???

Thanks dudes!
jc351

Re: Tournament Tips

Post by jc351 »

Where do you fish mainly?
Jonnysig

Post by Jonnysig »

Live near CFW so naturally I spend some time there. Perfect example. Found nice schools of fish that were big and fat and eating a jig real good. Thought I was on to something good and then I was never able to find them again. Tried shallower, deeper, secondaries, etc... Completely lost them. I realize thats fishing and just the way it is. But I want to get better at maybe re-locating them and staying on them better.