What are some good area's on the Delta?

Whistu

What are some good area's on the Delta?

Post by Whistu »

I habe slipped my boat at Ladd's and the only area i have any (basic) knoweledge of is Mildred. I was hoping I could get a few people to recommend some closer areas to learn. Ive fished 14 mile slough with limited success. Any help would be much appreciated :)
kraetzer

Re: What are some good area's on the Delta?

Post by kraetzer »

Give 14 mile another try -> holds some good fish. Also dissappointment and white slough a worth a shot.
Hope that helps, tight lines.
kraetzer

"I am ready to face any challenge that might be foolish enough to face me" - Dwight K. Schrute
Whistu

Post by Whistu »

Thanks for the response, I will have to give it another shot. From the lack of any other responses you'd think I was asking for peoples secret fishing holes lol
Dom

Post by Dom »

I have been fishing the delta for about 13 years but been fishing it hard for the last 4-5 years and I am in no way a stick I can go out and catch fish every outting I have learned that but still learning how to target them big fish say 8lbs and up. But I am slowly figuring that out as well but here is my advice , dont rule out any of the areas , If you failed in 14 mile then you need to spend more time find the honey holes and to do this fish it on all tides . I will pick a spot say like franks, old river or 14 mile and spend a year (season) fishing it check your tides Here is a great link http://deltaboating.com/tides/tidesj.html pay close attention to the time of year and what the tide is at for instant at 7:00 am its 1.7 on incoming ect.... Do this when you find success and write it down at the end of the season you will have lots of data on the certain spot your fishing . I keep water temp, weather , air temp. etc.... The following year you can go back to that day or around that time match the conditions and try what you tried last year.