Bed Fish

Daryl

Bed Fish

Post by Daryl »

Hi
Just wondering how long does it take for bed fish to return to the bed. Or do they ever return after the weighin? Oh and how far away can they return to the bed?
DL

Re: Bed Fish

Post by DL »

I'm not an expert but I doubt they would find their way back or even try. Once the fish has been hooked and hauled to weigh-in, she probably doesnt feel like spawing any time soon. BASS did a fish track a few seasons ago and I remember one fish traveling over a mile during the 4 days of the tournament...

I have caught bed fish and released them immediately and they go right back to their bed..but the fish was released 10 feet from the bed...
"Feel the steel"
toddmc

Post by toddmc »

It depends on the fish. A male released immediately and carefully will often return within a few minutes. I often look to see if a fish returns when I am working a new bedding fish close to where I just released one.

Females are usually just hanging around the area. I don't see them return as often to a bed because they are not usually as committed to the bed where it was caught. The female often sits out in slightly deeper water waiting to be coaxed in by a male, or recovering. Most females are only on a bed with the male for a short time to rub and deposit eggs. They can be very hard to distract long enough to catch when they are rubbing.