help with prop for my bass boat

Bass_Master

help with prop for my bass boat

Post by Bass_Master »

Alright I just purchase my nitro 17 1994 with a 115 meek on it what size prop to get mines kind of banged up. I can go 45 mph but was thinking a new prop could make it go a little faster..lmk I'm a newbie anything will help thanks
Tony M

Re: help with prop for my bass boat

Post by Tony M »

Call Phil's Propeller at Shasta. They will recommend the proper prop for your boat and motor.
(800) 462-3917
Bass_Master

Post by Bass_Master »

Will do thanks.
mark poulson

Post by mark poulson »

One thing to remember is that your 115 has a lot of hours on it, so it may be smart not to try and squeeze every mph/rpm out if it, if that means possibly damaging it.
I just saw the Merc. repower email, and new motors are not cheap.
I would certainly bring that up with whoever you're talking to about repropping, just to get their best advice.
Having a slightly faster boat that's broke down is really hard to fish out of.
Attitude plus effort equal success
CLEAN AND DRY
scott39

Post by scott39 »

I had a 96 with 125. I think 45 is ok for that boat. A jack plate may help. Mine did not have one. Best I could do was 50.
Dobyns Rods
Champion Jon

Post by Champion Jon »

Thats a good speed for a 115 and a 17' boat. You could get your current prop cleaned up by a prop shop if need be. I used to have a similar set up and it sounds like your on track with speed.
Lugnut

Post by Lugnut »

www.bassboatcentral.com

Check out the forums there, they have a ton of information on prop / boat setup that may help.
Don't ask about my username, all I need to say is check yours and check them often.

HomeBrew Tackle Co.
Bass_Master

Post by Bass_Master »

Oh ok so cruising at 45 is pretty normal speed for a healthy 115 mercury on a 17 foot.I'm super happy with it but just thought it could do just a tad more like 50 or low 50..I'm fine just with 45 lol..thanks all who chimmed in with input
Champion Jon