advice for buying a used bass boat

bruizer343

advice for buying a used bass boat

Post by bruizer343 »

Long time reader first time poster.

I live and fish on the delta. Im ready to get into a used bass boat.

What are the top 10 question's I should be asking a seller.
I currently fish an 18' center console flats style, no storage and slow. So Im not a novice boat owner. I would just like input from bass boat fisherman.

added:
In an attempt to be payment free, FWTW
Budget is 20k for the most part. 10 year old or less range.
18-21', 225 min, ranger,skeeter,triton,basscat,nitro.

I maybe might would want to refrase my question.

What are the top 10 things to "look for" in wear n tear and general boat issues. Bass boat specific.

my first boat was a used CC fishmaster that was a nightmare and ended in a salvage. That being said, I'm trying to decide to take a used boat crap shoot plunge agian. 50-70G's for a new boat is a bit over the top for me. Speed, storage,stability, My center console boat just dosnt have the giddyup or storage.

Thank you all.

bruizer
Last edited by bruizer343 on Thu Mar 01, 2007 12:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Scott D.

Re: advice for buying a used bass boat

Post by Scott D. »

What's your budget? I would stick with fiberglass, and I would recommend Ranger.
Navy Chief proudly serving to protect this great nation. God Bless America
Ricky-S

Post by Ricky-S »

I don't think you need ten, but there are articles on this site that you can use for advice.

Here is what I would ask:

What shape is the boat in
Can I test drive it
Can I take it to my local shop to check out
How many hours on the motor
Have you had any major problems/demage
Does everything work
How much do you want for it
Phil

Post by Phil »

Scott D. wrote:What's your budget? I would stick with fiberglass, and I would recommend Ranger.
WE AGREE THAT BEFORE THE YEAR 2000'S A RANGER WITH NO QUESTION.AFTER THE 2000'S.....THEY ARE ALL GREAT BOATS PRETTY MUCH NOW !!!!!!

JIGS