fuel mpg ? give me some honest numbers

bassrman

fuel mpg ? give me some honest numbers

Post by bassrman »

I have been a gas engine driver all my life, I currently drive a chevy 3/4 hd with a 6.0 gas engine , it only gets 13 light & 11 towing the boat.,I am in the market for a new tow vehicle,is it really worth it too spend the extra $ for a diesel ,do they get that much more mpg ,too make the extra $$$ sticker price worth it ?.give me some honest reasons to buy one......what do you guys get for mpg ?..I want some true #$ ?,be honest!.....
Basslab

Re: fuel mpg ? give me some honest numbers

Post by Basslab »

Being a Ford man for over 30 years, I recently purchased a 2007 Toyota Tundra/Extra Cab with the I-Force V-8 that cranks out an amazing 381 HP. Not only do you not realize you are towing a 3,000+ pound boat (202 Champion with tandem axle) but with just over 5,000 miles and not totally broken in, I am averaging 15.77 MPG towing over the hills to Clearlake on a regular basis. My '95 F-150 with a 351 engine could barely get me 7 MPG on the same trips. Take a good close look at one of these trucks and if you are a diesel lover, they will be introducing their diesel next year.
bassrman

Post by bassrman »

thanks basslab ! come on guys! what do those new trucks get for mileage towing ?......
Gator

Post by Gator »

Bassrman - I drive an '01 F-150 Supercrew 4WD - I get 14-15 normally and around 12-13 towing (depending on speed). I drive a Tundra when I am at my companies home location, and drove it to Florida in August....I was impressed with the power and fuel economy. I averaged just over 21 on the trip to FL and about 18 around town. I was not towing anyhing but I know the truck would have the power to do it. If I get into the market for a new truck, I will definitely be looking at the Tundra.
biteme

Post by biteme »