100 lb braid?

fishbonz412

100 lb braid?

Post by fishbonz412 »

What weight line are you punching with? Anyone using 100 lb braid regularly for punching, or any other technique? I heard Bobby B and Cooch talk about it. What are the trade offs of this vs. 80 or 65 lb, besides strength? Who even makes or sells 100 lb test braid?

Being tighter on a budget, 65 is the heaviest braid I have....frogs, punching.....
--Sometimes it is best to be quiet and be thought the fool than to speak out and remove all doubt---
yjjustforme

Re: 100 lb braid?

Post by yjjustforme »

I've used up to 80 for both techniques but never 100. You can still cast a frog on 80 pretty well but the major drawback to 100lb is the fact that its almost impossible to put a punch stop on 100lb line. I stick to 65 and 80 myself
Cooch

Post by Cooch »

The Stealth Braid has been around for quite a while now. I've been using it for a few years. The line diameter of the 100# is virtually the same and un-noticable to either the 65 or 80# versions. I'm not sure what stoppers YJJUSTFORME is usung, but the standard rubber stops as seen in the picture below, install with great ease. Being a round braid, it's castability is superior and ya get far less of those deep dug in back lashes. I personally feel I can cast a Frog or Flippin The Bird lure, much better with the 100 versus the two smaller line sizes.

The 100# bulk 500yd spool is $79 at BPS, which is only $10 more than the 80 and $20 more than the 65# lines. Since changing over 3 years ago, I have yet to break off a single Punker, Wakebait, hollow bodied surface bait or high dollar punch rig using the 100# version. I would experience 3-6 break offs a year using the other two, so the xtra cost, is worth the end results savings. I'm one of those kinda guys who believes in "root cause" fixes. Going to the Stealth 100# braid, has indeed resolved all issues I've experienced over the years when using braided line for heavy duty applications.