Lowrance or Hummingbird

nelbarr

Lowrance or Hummingbird

Post by nelbarr »

I currently have one Lowrance HDS5 Gen2 on the console but I need at least one more fish finder up at the bow. I am still learning the fish finders and I do not mind either of both fish finder brands but not sure what fish finder and what size to buy. Any suggestions would be helpful.
medfish

Re: Lowrance or Hummingbird

Post by medfish »

If your still learning stay with what you got. Just makes the most sense to me. Get another lowrance link the 2 and be on your way
WRB

Post by WRB »

Stay with the brand you have and network a second unit. I would use RAM mounts and put the 5" unit on the bow and add a minimum 7" size (HDS7) on the console. 5" screens are difficult use split screen mode using a map and sonar together when at the helm searching for structure/baitfish or bass.
You need a trolling motor mount for the bow TD for real time deep structure fishing.
The RAM mounts allow you to position the units where you want them and easily remove and/or attach the units.
I'am sure you will get advice form more knowledgible sonar users.
Tom
nelbarr

Post by nelbarr »

WRB wrote:Stay with the brand you have and network a second unit. I would use RAM mounts and put the 5" unit on the bow and add a minimum 7" size (HDS7) on the console. 5" screens are difficult use split screen mode using a map and sonar together when at the helm searching for structure/baitfish or bass.
You need a trolling motor mount for the bow TD for real time deep structure fishing.
The RAM mounts allow you to position the units where you want them and easily remove and/or attach the units.
Tom