Crankbait Rod for 5/16 to 1/2 cranks

Tilzbow

Crankbait Rod for 5/16 to 1/2 cranks

Post by Tilzbow »

Guys,

I’m looking to buy a crankbait rod for tossing 5/16 to 1/2 oz crankbaits. Most will be divers and lipless baits in open water. I’ve got a Diawa SV TW that I just bought and I’m now looking for a rod to pair it with. My budget for this rod is $250 and I’m currently looking at a Dobyns Champion 704CB in standard or glass.

Any advantage to the glass Dobyns over the graphite Dobyns?

Any other good choices at or below my price range?

I’m new to baitcasters and the number of choices is truly overwhelming so appreciate the advice...
BigBassDaddy1190

Re: Crankbait Rod for 5/16 to 1/2 cranks

Post by BigBassDaddy1190 »

Irod genesis stone cold swim is an excellent lipless rod.

Also I like the Dobyns fury medium heavy cranking rod for small to medium divers. Pretty much the same rod but a little cheaper than the champion xp.
Last edited by BigBassDaddy1190 on Wed Jul 18, 2018 6:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Grant

Post by Grant »

If you are willing to go with a used rod try to find a G Loomis CBR 845 or 847 with the split handle. Best crank rod I have used and new they ran around $210 so used should run no more than about $150. I have not used the E6X Loomis so I cannot recommend it one way or the other.
ash
SpeedBump

Post by ash »

A couple of years ago I got the 704cb for Spooks and walking baits. Well i tied on a Square bill this past spring and it quickly became my square bill and medium diver rod, over my 805.

If you are looking for more power for an LV the 705 may be the way to go but I have been VERY happy with the 704CB. Light, casts a mile and has the perfect action to play fish and power to move them.
- JaJa Jigs - Get THUNKED
Links to Check Out -
https://www.instagram.com/jm_ash/
https://www.bestbasstournaments.com/
Gary Dobyns

Post by Gary Dobyns »