Jigs: Versatile and Reliable - Andy "Cooch" Cuccia

ash
SpeedBump

Jigs: Versatile and Reliable - Andy "Cooch" Cuccia

Post by ash »

It's a little late in the fall but this has been a late fall so its still pretty applicable.
This article was my bible when i started learning how to Bass Fish and Jigs have always been my favorite way to go at the game. This guy taught me more than bass fishing but that giving back and sharing time on the water as well as some strong competition is what its all about. RIP Cooch

http://www.coochsfishing.com/pages/jigs.php

Jigs: Versatile and Reliable
Fall marks a time when bass begin to feed heavily in an effort to build up the body fat to carry em through the winter. It is a time when they are forever gorging themselves. During this period in October and November, the larger bass, with in most of the Northern California watersheds, will tend to stray away from chasing the smaller shad food sources, but in fact key on the nutritional plusses of gorging themselves with crawdads. It is also during this period that our lakes are being drawn down in preparation to store the heavy rains of winter. It is during this time that the lakes are so low, that we reach the lower base of the lakes bottom where it is predominantly silt and mud. And it is in this mud at this time of year that crawdads tend to reside as they too are preparing for their winter migration into their burrows.