Stories of fishing with your kids

Devon8604

Stories of fishing with your kids

Post by Devon8604 »

My wife and I are expecting our first child in late July, we just found out yesterday it is a boy! I couldn't be more excited. Everyone has been asking what is something i'm looking forward to? I honestly can't wait to take him fishing and see him catch his first fish. It's something i've dreamed about for years.

I want to know, what are some of your favorite memories fishing with your kids?
Larry Hemphill

Re: Stories of fishing with your kids

Post by Larry Hemphill »

My kids both followed the music part of my life (I was a public school music teacher) but not the fishing part. About five year ago I guided a mom and dad with their 5 yr old son in June at Berryessa. He brought his trusty Snoopy rod and reel with who knows what kind of line on it. He could actually cast that outfit and made a pretty good cast with the attached Robo worm. I heard the famous words from him soon - "I GOT A BITE!" Yea, right kid (I only thought that!). Immediately this big smallie jumps near the boat - and I panic. The boy and the fish are connected!!!! He reeled it in by himself for what seemed like an hour! Three pound smallie on the button! I went over that scene in my mind for the next week - "That couldn't have happened!!" It did - one of the highlight of my guiding career! Mom decided to top him in the afternoon with her 5 1/2 lb largemouth - her first big bass! The photos were on my website for years, but I have some more recent ones now, including a 6 yr old girl who caught a 3 1/2 lb largemouth at Berryessa 2 year ago, topping her dad and uncle. That photo is still up on my website. Lots of great kid guide stories, but these are some of my favorites!!
fishmanj

Post by fishmanj »