Sacramento Perch

JRapps

Sacramento Perch

Post by JRapps »

Good day.
This is my first post here.
I am a retired aquatic biologist headed to the Napa area later this week for 10 days.

The topic of this post pertains to Sacramento Perch, Archoplites interruptus.
I am aware of the species plight in Northern California and have communicated with colleagues regarding their current (non) status in the area.
There are multiple locations where they used to be found.
I know that they can be still be caught in a few places such as Lake Crowley and Pyramid Lake.
Those places are quite far from the Napa area.

I am asking forum members if anyone is aware of recent Sacramento Perch catches in the greater San Francisco - Santa Rosa - Sacramento vicinity.
There is a good possibility (hope so, anyway) that stable Sac Perch populations still exist in private ponds or lakes (farm, winery, etc) where non-native sunfish have not yet been introduced.

My goal is to collect or acquire about 10-12 juveniles in order to establish a potential captive breeding population of this unique species.

Please feel free to reply to this thread directly or, if you'd rather not share your Sac Perch location in public, you are welcome to pm me.

Thanks in advance!
Johnson

Re: Sacramento Perch

Post by Johnson »

They are in Almanor. My buddy caught two in June last year.
Attachments
D83B26B4-E48A-4B5C-9146-AD9D0CEDA235.jpeg
JRapps

Post by JRapps »

Thanks so much for sharing that info!
That's a great photo.

I am glad to hear that Sac Perch are in Lake Almanor and will surely pass that info along to those who are associated with the ongoing research on this species.
Maybe it's a little too optimistic of me to learn of recent occurrences from locations closer to SFO - Santa Rosa - Sacramento area.
monte300

Post by monte300 »

It looks closer to crappie than perch
hydro

Post by hydro »