Dropshot line... Seaguar sucks!

snapitoff2002

Dropshot line... Seaguar sucks!

Post by snapitoff2002 »

Does anyone have extensive experience with many lines... and can tell me of a flourocarbon that will be the least susceptible to line twist? Line twist is inevitable, but Jesus... 6lb Seaguar had to be the worst line I have ever used. Not even sure I want to go with flourocarbon for dropshot now. Any thoughts or suggestions???!!! :P
Jason Wood

Re: Dropshot line... Seaguar sucks!

Post by Jason Wood »

I use P-Line 8 & 10lb... I still have to re-tie the leader every few times out because of line twist... I saw some new DS hooks with a swivel setup on 'em over at the Extreme Outdoorsman... Supposed to cancel the line twist...I was waitin' for 'em to get some bigger ones before I bought any to try out...
Ricky-S

Whatcha talking bout

Post by Ricky-S »

All I use is Seaguar and I have been using it for about 7 years now. I have NEVER had a problem with it breaking. It is on every reel that I own. They are the company that invented floro.

They are also made at the same place as Sunline.
bryanmc

Post by bryanmc »

I'm not too familiar with the regular seaguar, but the invizix is the best flouro I've found for any application, especially on a spinning reel
philstrader

Re: Whatcha talking bout

Post by philstrader »

I agree, seaguar works the best for me. The finesse Guru of Shasta Lake, Mark Hiser put me on to seaguar several years ago for drop shotting, especially deep dropshotting, and that's pretty much all that I use.

Phil strader
sdisturber

Post by sdisturber »

in my best mr. rogers voice , hi boys and girls can you say ball bearing swivel.........
mark poulson

Post by mark poulson »

Any monofilament line, including flourocarbon, is prone to line twist on a spining rod, especially in the lighter lines.
One solution is to stretch the line after each trip, or during the trip by trailing it behind the boat at 5mph with no lure or weight attached.